160. Hardmoors 55

Hardmoors 55 24th October. 54.11 miles, 7th event 2020. 2,192 m of ascent. 13 hours 49 mins 03 seconds. 26th lady of 47 (2nd F50), Andy 114th of 170. Joint 139th of 217 finishers out of 254 starters not including the 10 relay teams, (149th including relays)

160th marathon

95th ultra

56th Hardmoors race completed, 6th 55

2114 Hardmoors miles completed

We stayed overnight in an amazing AirBnB in Helmsley. It was the fear of not knowing where to park and if road works would delay us getting to the start. It also meant at least an extra hour in bed! We’d agreed to coordinate the coaches, everyone had been given the number of the coach they were to get on depending on their start times. Mark Dalton had got people organised marking off who was on each coach when we arrived. Oddly the 2nd and 4th coach turned up before the 1st. People were missing from each coach so we sent the early starters off first and waited an extra 15 minutes just in case.

We were in Guisborough by 7.30, we weren’t due to start until 8:46 and due to COVID restrictions, we couldn’t go the race start until 20 minutes before our 8:46 start time. We headed to Costa as did many others.

Pre race and 08:46:15 start.

It was all well set up. Drop bags and finish bags in Rod and Hollys van. Wait by the portaloos to be called forward. You were given your tracker then placed your bag on the table so this could be attached, we then got our race numbers and headed up in our group of 6 to the start. Up on the railway line Jon and Shirley welcomed and started us.

Guisborough to Roseberry Topping 10:15:20 (1 hour 29)

We chatted to John Kynaston as we moved through the process and then ran together. We didn’t have a plan to stay together except we’d put down the same predicted time, he has a 100 mile race in 2 weeks so was taking this easy. We had our splits from 2015 when we ran the race in 12:45. John had his from last year but that was the 50th anniversary of the Cleveland Way race and a different route at the start.

We were caught by others before we even left the railway line to head up to the woods, a steady stream of people came by but we stuck with our plan of not going out too fast. Someone kindly stopped and took a photo of the 3 of us. We made it to Highcliff Nabb on schedule. Clear views across the Roseberry topping. The wind was starting up but the trees had sheltered us. It wasn’t until we were heading up Roseberry its self that we noticed how strong they were getting and it was really hard work, especially as we went to the very top and the trig point. We lost 10 minutes or so getting up there.

Roseberry Topping to Gribdale 10:42:14, running time 1 hours 55 (26:54mins) 8.3 total miles

Despite this mostly being downhill or flat I just struggled to get any speed up, I’ve still got that caution and fear of tripping when the ground is uneven. It was also tough as we were going into the wind so I wasn’t surprised we lost another 5 minutes. This was the first drop bag, I had plenty of water and knew I’d be fine to get to the next checkpoint so moved on through. John had a drop bag there and I think Andy might have got more water. I was carrying 1 litre of water with mountain fuel in both bottles. I also had a pasty, snickers and chia charge bar. I knew the checkpoints were well stocked with easy to grab foods if I needed more.

The spilt cards that Andy produces are great for knowing how far it is to the next food checkpoints but have a few split markers along the way with the time we should have arrived there if we were keeping to our 2015 schedule.

Gribdale to Warren Moor 11:37:06, running time 2 hours 50. (54:52mins) 12.5 total miles

A sharp climb up to Captains Cooks monument then back into the respite of the trees and down to Kildale. Sportsunday were taking photos here again and we ran together but didn’t coordinate our jumps. I still felt like there was a steady stream of people passing us although I was overtaking people on the climbs but recognised the same faces or patterned leggings as they passed us again. We lost a few more minutes here but I knew it was the strong winds slowing us.

The climb towards Bloworth crossing was tough because of the wind but I’m sure last year and 2013 were worse. Warren Moor came before I expected it although matched the expected mileage. I thought it was where we left the road but that was perhaps a bit too windswept for the poor marshals!

Warren Moor to Clay Bank 13:28:48, running time 4 hours 42. (1 hour 51) 20 Total miles

I didn’t stop feeling I had enough water still, I was sipping as we went but with it not being too warm I was fine. I had made so many changes to what I was going to wear in my mind before we left but the thin long sleeve top I got from the Frostbite 30, Tshirt then my Gore windstopper top were perfect. I wore a buff when I needed to stop the wind ringing in my ears.

Once off the tarmac it was a long slow slog of undulating rough track to the turn at Bloworth crossing. The wind battered us at times but was calmer as we took the right turn and headed along the edge of the escarpment. The guys ran together chatting a lot, slowing to let me catch up although it as interesting that John said how fast I walk as he couldn’t keep up and had to run. Once we reached the slabs I did wonder if I should have worn my Scotts rather than my Altra, King MT 1.5 Trail Running Shoes as they were so thin. Later I would be pleased as I don’t slip on the wet rocks and they manage pretty well through muddy sections.

Andy as usual was good at chatting to others as I concentrated on putting one foot in front of the other.

I went to get my face mask out as I got to the roadside checkpoint but they said none of the other runners were wearing them but all the marshals were. I was straight across the road, had my water bottle filled and headed up the steps to where the drop bags were. I didn’t even stop there long, just enough time to add the mountain fuel to my filled bottle and add the chia charge bar to my pocket, I walked up the hill with my snickers. I’d put the old bag in the bin and had forgotten to remove my new strip of splits but nipped back for them!! We were praised for how clearly we’d labelled our drop bags, I pointed out I’d copied John Kynaston’s as he appeared.

Clay Bank to Scarth Nick 15:56:23, running time 7 hours 10 (2 hours 27) 28 total miles

I moved on as the guys sorted through their drop bags. I knew I’d be faster up the climbs but would slow down on the tops. We did well over the three sisters but as we were coming down towards Lords Stones Andy stopped to put his jacket on, we’d had a touch of rain before this but this time the dark clouds had been threatening for a while. I was quite quick getting my jacket on and had crossed the road after the cafe before I saw the guys again. John however powered on and we didn’t see him much after that! I felt good on the this section, knowing once we got past Osmotherly we’d done most of the climbs. The rain was heavy when it fell but it didn’t seem to fall for long.

I chose not to get water at Scarth Nick as I presumed there’d be a checkpoint at Square Corner and I had plenty.

Scarth Nick to Sneck Yate Bank 18:50:59, running time 10 hours 4 (2 hours 54) 40 total miles

One last climb up before we slipped down to Osmotherly. John was sheltering under the tunnel as we followed the Cleveland Way out of the village. He appeared to be sorting through his bag I said hello but kept going. Andy led the group up about 6 of us, I was pleased to get to the hill to be able to pass the others and get to Andy. I’d been dreaming of the pasty he was carrying, he agreed it was a good time to eat it. The climb up to Square Corner went quicker than I expected, I’m very motivated by food. I was surprised by the lack of food here but I guess I’d not really looked at the information but knew there was a cut off here so presumed it was a checkpoint as usual. Luckily there were lots of supporters here and a lady kindly filled a bottle for us both. Andy tried to steal some pasta but wasn’t allowed!

One last big climb which seemed to go on for ages. John caught us up here as we stopped to changed layers. I added my waterproof trousers and Andy changed damp layers for dry. His waterproof jacket started to fail. John stayed with us awhile but we edged on before we got to High Paradise Farm. Not far from there was the checkpoint at Sneck Yate Bank, I powered up the hill excited to get my next drop bag. Again I didn’t take any food from the checkpoint just a bottle needed filling and the mountain fuel adding. I put my 2nd pasty in my coat pocket thinking I’d be eating it soon. The snickers and chia charge bar went into my top pocket ready for eating.

Sneck Yate Bank to White Horse 20:10:55, running time 11 hours 24 (1 hour 20) 45 miles total

A gentle climb from here, we were keeping to under 4 miles an hour most of the time which kept me motivated that we were doing so well still. We’d put the head torches on just before the woods that head to High Paradise Farm, it was a very dark night but beneath the escarpment we could see the lights of Thirsk. Two ladies moving very smoothly commented on how quickly I walk up hills, I was running at the time so think it was a compliment!

The final section to the White Horse check point always seems to take longer than you expect. With the staggered start times we weren’t sure how many people we’d see but there were a few coming back towards us before we dipped down the side into the trees. We could hear the checkpoint long before we could see it as they cheered us in. Such a great welcome! I handed in some rubbish but kept going knowing I had what I needed.

White Horse to Helmsley 22:35:18, running time 13:49:03 (2 hours 24) 54.11 total miles

I started my final chia charge flapjack as we climbed the steps up the side of the White Horse. The evening actually improved for us, I even started to feel warm and took my gloves off. Rachel Hewit ran with us for most of it, Andy chatted away as I powered up the hills. It was muddy but nothing bothered my lovely Altras. In Cold Kirby someone gave us some very nice chocolate orange fudge brownie, it went down a treat, very soft and tasty. It gave me the kick I needed to really power up the hill from the road towards Helmsley, I felt rotten leaving Rachel behind but she started 2 minutes after us so I needed to make up 2 minutes to beat her time. I also powered past another lady on the those awful steps but she went past me on the flatter surface that I struggle on with along with several other fast paced runners who were in relay teams.

Such a fantastic feeling to be in Helmsley and head up the road to the finish at the swimming pool. Katrina was at the finish and Andy chatted to her as I sat down as usual.

I was so pleased with how we did despite us being 49 minutes slower than the prediction. We’d only really started to train 3 weeks before! Andy felt I was a bit lopsided towards the end. I had a few aches and pains especially shin splints on my right leg. I’d warn the altras hoping to have less ankle the following day, it was a touch tender but not to bad. We walked back to the airbnb and got changed in the driveway and Andy drove us home. We had recovery shakes in the car plus pringles. I thought I’d eaten enough but overnight I was soon hungry and thirsty. It was an odd night with lack of sleep but mostly from feeling so pleased that we’d done our first real race since January!!

About marathongirl69hotmailcouk

Someone who enjoys lifes adventures!
This entry was posted in 100 marathons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment