172. Dartmoor Way Granite 50

Dartmoor Way Granite 50. 5th November 22. 50.67 miles 2,205 m of ascent. 12 hours 54.06. 15.16 minute miles. Joint 23rd of 35 finishers 37, 4th lady and first FV50, 105th ultra.

We chose the race as it was close to Andy’s uncle Bob’s house. This allowed us to have a week where we recced it over several days as training plus confidence on race day. 

The race finishes at Oakhampton which is 30 minutes from Bob’s. The coach taking us to the start left at 6 and it was a smooth journey until we reached the single lane roads and there was no way he could turn to take us the last quarter of a mile to Scoriton village hall.

There was gentle rain and we knew the forecast was for 100% for rain so we started with our waterproofs on. Scoriton is off the Dartmoor Way but they needed the extra miles to make the race 50 miles. We started at 8 and followed mostly road but a few bits of muddy trail covered in a sprinkling of golden leaves to checkpoint 1 at Buckfast 3.1 miles in. The 100 mile race started midday Friday but were all through by the time we arrived. We went in the front door gave our numbers and headed straight out and back into the course. 

The next checkpoint of Manaton was at 24.7 miles. We knew we had enough food and drink to get us there. Our plan was to go at a steady pace, Andy’s pacing sheet was for us to average 3.5 miles an hour as I didn’t think after the recce we would manage 4 miles an hour as it’s such a rolling course and tricky underfoot in places. We were already ahead of plan but that was mostly due to the road plus it being downhill to Buckfast. 

From Buckfast it was a steady climb over the next 10 miles going through Ashburton and then eventually onto the moor and up to Haytor Rocks. Rain was falling gently but we were warm on the climb. We were finally on Dartmoor, our highest point of the day. Despite the exposure to the elements the wind wasn’t too much. From here we followed old tram tracks steadily downhill. We past our first 100 runner but she was dropping out due to sore feet. We offered tape and paracetamol but she had already made arrangements for being picked up. The route is stunning if you can forget the road sections, lots of fields to cross but there’s also a massive network of walled paths, often tree covered so you run down the tunnel. It was particularly magical with the golden leaves.

The route splits into 2 just before Bovey Tracey with the 100 milers missing off the link to Bovey Tracey. On our first recce we followed the 100 route as we didn’t have access to the 50 mile route and were confused at one point when we saw a Dartmoor Way sign pointing off our route. This is where we rejoined the permissive path that the 100 route took. We went back another day and did the Bovey Tracey loop so it was easy to follow now and was mostly old tramway so easy underfoot. We’d been trying to get used to our Leki poles but I didn’t think they helped on tarmac as you can’t push back. This track was a mix of tarmac sections and packed mud so I gave up. The poles were great especially on the hills but having had training in how to use them I used them more on the downs off road as previously I’ve just wanted them to push me up hill and thought they’d hinder my descent.

Manaton checkpoint (24.7 miles, 5 hours 28) was off the main track, a there and back so we saw a few racers heading back on course. The checkpoint was indoors, they had plenty of food laid out and were providing lentil soup and cups of tea. Perfect!! A couple of toes on each foot were sore so I took both shoes off. I’d applied Kinesiology tape to my big and next toe on both feet as they are the ones that I usually blister if I do get any. I usually use zinc oxide tape but it sticks to everything and Andy has had good success with the Kinesiology tape with damp feet the tape had mostly slid off or I pulled it off when I removed my toe socks. I had thought about wrapping zinc oxide tape over the top and will do in the future. So on went fresh zinc oxide tape plus I added tape to my little toe. I was aware that I’d worn the wrong shoes, a last minute change as I thought I needed the grip with the wet weather recently. They were tight across my toes, why are shoes so narrow! I wore Scott Supertrac Ultra RC but prefer Saucony Peregrine 11 but the grip is wearing on them now, I’ve worn the Scott’s a few times but not on that distance also they weren’t as comfortable as my previous pair, I find it frustrating when shoe designs change.

20 minutes later we were on the path again, we’d arrived 90 minutes ahead of the schedule so were still nicely within our goal. We headed through a few towns and down to Fingle Bridge near to Castle Drogo where we’ve been before for family walks. As we crossed the bridge both arms felt tingly, we’d just come down a long descent and it was as we reached the flat before the next climb. I had a good drink and just ate. Never felt like that before and because I was feeling strong otherwise I just tried the obvious, next thought would have been to sit down. Andy knew I wasn’t quite right as I really slowed down behind him, it’s hard to fill your face when you are holding poles but I knew not to push and let the food digest. I was soon feeling much better.

It was only 4.5 miles to the next checkpoint of Chagford (38.5 miles, 9 hours 22) and we were delighted to get there without really needing our headtorches, we just needed them a little on the road as we approached to warn cars of our presence. Just as we arrived we saw 2 guys that we had overheard talking at the start that they didn’t know the route and had no map, we advised them it was mostly waymarked but you had to keep an eye out for the signs. We’d chatted to them before we got to Manaton but another guy in front of us took a short cut and they followed him, we stuck to the race route. Andy thought they must be either 30 minutes in front or behind us as we didn’t see them on the over lap of Manaton, turned out they totally missed that checkpoint out! I thought that was odd as it was really well marked with race signs at the turn. We could see by the trace from their trackers the shortcut they’d taken earlier.

Chagford was another amazing checkpoint, all keen to help us. I think they were surprised how happy we were. Again we enjoyed lentil soup and cups of tea. I was avoiding bread and therefore sandwiches in case there was sugar in it! I needed to tape below my right ankle as I forgotten these shoes always rub there but I was fine to keep going. We’d arrived 1 hours 38 ahead of the plan and we didn’t stay long this time. It was headtorch time as we departed and followed a few narrow lanes initially. As it was November 5th we hoped for fireworks and were pleased that the moon was able to slip out from the clouds as they finally started to thin out. We could hear a few a few pops and fizzles but saw very few as we went through South Zeal. Very disappointing.

We overtook 3 from the 100 mile race before the final big hill as we were able to race down the road. We caught up the 2 guys I mentioned earlier they were with a guy with the route on his watch but they’d missed a bridge as we were following a stream, they followed us but I took the wrong higher path so we headed back down, they pretty much stayed with us when they realised we had a better idea of the route. We climbed up high on the moors before heading back down and into the woods which I remembered would be rough under foot. We raced along with poles to keep us upright as the leaves hid many trip hazards. It didn’t take long before we were racing up the final tram track, I remembered this being uphill but it didn’t feel it tonight! I was motivated by finishing before 9pm plus just feeling so strong still. The path down to the river crossing was marked and so was the last few meters to the finish arch. A wonderful feeling, I was even amazed that I wasn’t in my usual state of needing to sit down as soon as we finished before they took my tracker off. Possibly because we were on grass rather than solid floor inside as I get painful feet when I’m not moving. We were given our medals and went inside. The 2 guys finished just behind us. We chatted to them over food, with others it’s amazing how many people had chosen this to be their first ultra. We had to buy our food but it was warm and filling. We could have showered there but I couldn’t be bothered to walk back to the car and then back to get our gear. Luckily mandatory kit says you have to carry a long sleeved top and I had an extra spare one just in case so I could change for a drier top layer.

I’m delighted that I managed to do this without sugar but will be adding snicker bars back in as I love knowing I have the change of taste when I need it but I will be using dates again! I was delighted to have no blisters just the rub by the ankle on my right foot and bottom of my race vest on both sides! Despite there being a lot of road I’d love to come back and do the full circle, perhaps next year.

About marathongirl69hotmailcouk

Someone who enjoys lifes adventures!
This entry was posted in 100 marathons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment