158. Hardmoors 30

Hardmoors 30 1st January.  30.23 miles 1st event 2019. 957 m of ascent 5 hours 54 mins  47 seconds. 66th /166. 16th lady. PB

We sadly left Kipper behind as he’d been struggling with a sore left leg and we didn’t want him running so far so soon. Luckily Bill, Martin and Suzanne Came to the rescue with walks. 
We arrived at 8:30 after 1 hour 45 minute drive to Robin Hoods Bay. We had time to talk to Shirley, Jenny and Ken before the 09:30 start. Andy had looked at last years times for each checkpoint, I hoped to be 15 minutes quicker than that to get sub 6 hours 14 and a PB. 

I’d not turned my watch on early enough so didn’t have GPS for nearly a mile which was frustrating. The map hasn’t worked for a few weeks but at least the rest of the setting work so I know how far we have to run etc but with me trying to get the satellites to work I managed to loose that function. This is my 9th running of the event having missed just one when we went  up Kilimanjaro. The course has only changed its start location so I know the route. 


We were pleased with our steady run to Whitby along the flattish cinder track, we’d hoped to do the first 6 miles in an hour but knocked 5 minutes off that. I grabbed a few peanuts and some coke as Andy ran through. I’d drunk very little mountain fuel.
My right foot was rubbing on the underside so I stopped at the top of the 199 steps to tape it. Who’d wear new shoes on a 30 mile run? I did 11 miles without problems last week! I’d bought Scott supertrac ultras from Lets Run before Christmas as the tread on mine, from a year ago, has really run down. I’d wanted something else with good grip and Peter Kidd agreed that the Altra King mt were good but they didn’t stock them, luckily I’d tracked down a pair. I thanked Peter for his input as he ran by me. The coastal path wasn’t wet enough to need them so I would have been fine with the Scots that I’ll wear on the Arc in a months time. 


It was 7.5 miles (13.5 total) back to Robin Hoods Bay along the coast path. As we reached Whitby a guy commented that he knew our tactics of letting people overtake us on the cinder track then we glide past them on the coast path. We can’t lie we know that happens and sure enough it did. Although a few people caught us as we got back to Robin Hoods Bay checkpoint. 
We were pleased to leave Robin Hoods bay 10 minutes ahead of time. We were a little longer at the checkpoint as Andy had tripped on the cinder track within the first 2 miles so he wanted to clean the dirt out of his hand! He left his blooded knee to dry out. I was pleased Andy ate here as he’d had nothing at the caravan park checkpoint or Whitby either.


A lady who arrived with us recognised me from my Hardmoors YouTube videos. She said they helped her to decide to enter the race, I apologised for leading her astray! She later said she was wearing Hokas after I’d mentioned about the wide fitting in a film! I suddenly feel responsible that people listen to what I say.  


I was pleased that we pushed steadily along the cinder track to Ravenscar. A gentle incline the whole way. Just before the checkpoint Andy spotted a guy was running towards us he was the race leader and he’d not realised he should have gone down to the coast but instead was retracing his steps!. He cursed as he turned back, luckily it wasn’t far. At the checkpoint they said no one else had come through so he’d not lost his lead. He’d done a 3 hour 15 marathon at that point, took us 5 hours to get back to that point!
We’d managed to make up more time in the 5 miles (18.5 total) to Ravenscar and arrived 15 minutes early. More peanuts and coke plus filled my bottle a little as they said there was water at Hayburn Wyke. 


The cinder track from here was downhill over the 3.5 miles (22 total) to Hayburn Wyke. I usually struggle here as I feel people overtake me but not many did. We were delighted to arrive 25 minutes ahead of the plan, 4 hours and 5 minutes instead of 4.5 hours. The plan said it took us 2 hours to finish last year. I was hopeful that a PB was guaranteed but was also wondering if sub 6 hours was possible. The GPS route we were following on our watches was last years with a diversion so we were delighted to knock half a mile off that. Even though the coastal path had steeper hills than the diversion last year we arrived back at Ravenscar and were now 35 minutes ahead of the plan. Last year it had taken us 50 minutes to do the final 4 miles which would be just 5 minutes under the 6 hour mark.

I was slowing and despite having half a bottle of coke to sip I found it a struggle. It was hard to pace knowing the were 2 steep hills to climb before the final hill to Robin Hoods Bay so I did what I could on the downs and flats. Andy was stronger but waited for me. We caught up with a few who’d overtaken us before and despite the route not being slippy we overtook them as we are confident on the steep downs and ups so pulled away. 
I couldn’t run that final hill but pushed as hard as I could. Then ran the last gentle up to the carpark and hall. 5 hours 54 minutes and 47 seconds for 30.23 miles. Just over a 20 minute PB and I felt good. So pleased. It was a lovely day, the route was mostly dry which helps and I’m delighted after a month of December Daily Dashing to have done so well. Roll on the Arc of Attrition! 

About marathongirl69hotmailcouk

Someone who enjoys lifes adventures!
This entry was posted in 100 marathons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment