159. Arc of Attrition

Arc of Attrition 31st January.  104.62 miles, 4th event 2020. 4986 m of ascent. 34 hours 13 mins  44 seconds. 100th /111. 10th lady of 12.

I was anxious to find Andy trying to fix his race vest just 16 minutes before the start. We’d got the bus from the finish area to Coverack and I’d just come back from the toilet. It’s not the first time the threads have broken and slipped through but he needed to be left to fix it. The pumping music didn’t help calm him! I felt panicked after 5 minutes and still no fix in sight! I think he ended up just tying them together and hoping. It worked, phew!! 
I’d not seen Jon at the registration but saw him now. We warned him of how quickly the course goes to single file and slows down. Other runners we knew included David Betteridge, Mark Collision and Chris Worton as well as a few others.

Video of the start

We set off on time at 12, again they had the blues flares as we headed down the road. Rain was forecast. Most people seemed to be in waterproof jackets. The temperature was forecast to be 12 degrees so I removed my windproof on the bus and just wore my string vest and thin long sleeved top beneath my waterproof jacket. I was just the right temperature. Andy wished he was in shorts within no time of us starting to run. He wore leggings as you have to carry them so you might as well wear them. 
The first section where the route narrowed was missed out and we headed up the road but it didn’t take long to be on the narrow coastal path. Jon was running with us until we got to the junction with last years diversion. Andy was ahead of me and followed the crowd up last years route. A guy near us said we needed to go left instead to follow the official path! I called Andy but he was too far ahead. I looked at the route on my watch and struggled to know exactly where we were. My watch has been playing up for months. I’d had various conversions and emails with Garmin support as the map didn’t seem to load any more. It just kept saying ‘Garmin Europe’ although there was a squiggle of a map and all other GPS setting worked. I was told there was nothing they could do. Andy found a cheap 2nd hand replacement which arrived just in time. However the night before we left Leeds this was doing the same as my original and when we checked Andy’s map, which had worked fine on Saturday, he too could only get the Garmin Europe arrow. A late night message to Bill and I knew we could pick his up in the morning but luckily Andy worked out that in settings, system then map the watch had turned location on, location being their head office in Southampton!! Shame to have bought the new watch but good to have a spare! My watch was working but didn’t like me to see the 200 or 300 foot page I was used to just the 500 or 800 foot which wasn’t as detailed. I knew I couldn’t be separated from Andy so followed him up the hill. He finally heard my calls when we were near the top of the hill. We debated going back to follow the other group but others around us convinced us we were on the right path. It wasn’t a small group that headed up. 

Race plan


Andy had gone into a lot of detail with our times from last year. He looked at what time we needed to do to get to St Ives before the cutoff and what Colin Bathe’s spreadsheet of success suggested. We wanted to be ahead of last year’s times. He’d printed off a list with a few key places and times to be there, our race plan. It was motivational to know we were mostly just ahead of the times we were aiming for. Somehow, despite the field being larger this year than last, they increase entries by 50 every year, it didn’t feel as busy on the course. There were only a few times I felt we got stuck behind anyone. At one point I thought someone had pulled a plug as suddenly a long line of people streamed passed us.


Jo Bigg was at quite a few points along the way, Chris always seemed to be just behind us. A Hardmoors runner told us Jon was just behind at one point but had fallen. We knew Shirley had gone ahead to have a run and were pleased to see her waiting for Jon just after the Lizard. We found out later he ended up dropping out here having fallen a few times and hurting his back I believe.


Lovely that people recognised my Hardmoors 2000 mile number that I had on my rucksack. Someone talked about my videos reminding us of how often we talk about cups of tea. I confused others with that number as they wondered why I had a different number or was I doing a different event!


The rain was never very hard. In my mind I described this section as wet, windy and warm but it wasn’t too wet. Again, as last year, I chose not to take photos or video but it was never as stunningly bright as last year. 
We crossed Loe Bar Beach before the final climb then descent into Porthleven. The light was fading but the street lights saved the need for head torches, I had mine at the ready.


Checkpoint 1. Porthleven 24.7 (25.2) miles. 6 hours 5 minutes, ahead of plan by 5 minutes, 25 minutes ahead of last year.

We were met by Arc Angels again but they seemed to dump us at the door rather than hand us over. The room was busy. We found chairs and I headed straight for a cup of tea then checked the food table. I knew this was the cream tea stop, Andy had printed the food options on our race plan sheet. I also chose soup and vegetarian sausages in bread rolls. I grabbed 2 of everything after checking Andy was happy with it all. Andy sent a quick WhatsApp update to family. We were gone within the planned 15 minutes.


It was dark as we headed out of town. We knew we’d gone wrong a few times on this section last year so I tried to be attentive to the course and not those ahead of us. I spotted we’d gone off course quite quickly and Andy worked out we didn’t need to go far back to get back on course. A runner ahead of us had jumped over the stile at this point but as there were no acorns on the sign we’d all kept going. On looking later we should have turned off this path a bit before!
We knew there was another section before Marazion where 50% had gone wrong last year heading onto the beach. Just before here we saw Jo again and she told us Jon had dropped out. I remember the smell of cabbages from this section last year. We could see why we’d gone wrong when we reached it this time as the path we needed was tucked away. Luckily Colin Bathe had put a lot of detail on Facebook to help guide us. I’m so glad we didn’t have to climb that cliff again!! A guy was running with us at this point. He said he’d gone wrong loads last year, he tucked in alongside us. Andy was good at chatting to him, telling him what lay ahead especially when we reached the road section at Marazion which led us into Penzance.
I felt this section was muddy, murky and muggy. A warm evening, misty at times. People kept talking about the mud but we thought what did anyone expect this time of year. It was sloppy stuff not deep. We both had good grips for it although Andy‘s shoes weren’t so grippy on wet rock. 
From Marazion Andy ran for 100 steps then marched until we reached the new checkpoint in Penzance at the end of the road we’d stayed on when we were last here. Again the Angels checked we were ok and delivered us to the door.

Checkpoint 2. Penzance. 40 (40.5) miles. 10 hours 35. Behind by 20 minutes but 20 ahead of last year. 25 minutes instead of 15 minute break.

Sweat potato soup and lasagne. Just what I needed plus a very rich chocolate pudding. This time they came to us and were really helpful. It seemed more organised. I’m not sure what took us so long but didn’t worry about it. Andy swapped batteries around in his head torch, he doesn’t have any faith in the lithium batteries. He really struggled on the Hardwolds 80 last year going through several sets far too quickly. I think I swapped to my spare head torch. 


Jo was outside as Chris was just arriving, great to know he wasn’t far behind us. 
The guy who’d been following us moved quickly to head out the door as we left. We marched on to Mousehole. The evening was still warm so Andy altered his clothing before we left the road knowing we’d be on more technical ground soon. It didn’t take me long to have doubts about my head torch. Andy had some spare batteries handy so swapped them, I was annoyed as I’d tested all of the batteries before using them, again they were lithium!
We had a good run to Lamorna Cove. A couple of times I saw a little mouse running along the path, just once a dead one was on the path. Andy chatted to Amy who was a strong runner and soon disappeared off but we saw her a few times on this stretch. I think we only did one turn wrong but just took a lower path which soon rejoined the path we should have been on. We didn’t see Amy again as she headed to the beach rather than across to the climb up to the Minack theatre, she was listening to music so didn’t hear our shouts. We saw her turn so knew she got back on course but know she dropped out somewhere. We also lost our shadow somewhere around here. 
It felt good to get past the Minack theatre. I remember being shattered here last year and having 2 cups of coke which I regretted as I burped all the way to Lands End. The only caffeine I’d had so far was tea and paracetamol with caffeine in. 
Andy asked how I was feeling as we approached Lands End. I was feeling great. Just so much better than last year. I knew we were behind our race plan but we were ahead of last years times and I didn’t need a sleep. I felt determined, can’t think of any others d’s. The game I play of what to write in my blog keeps me going on most races and focused and delays the need to ask ‘What’s for tea?’ 

Checkpoint 3. Lands End. 55.4 (56.4) miles. 16 hours 20. 35 minutes behind schedule but 5 minutes ahead of last year. 25 minute break.


Lands End hotel lights ahead teased us. I knew we weren’t far but my watch distances were out by a mile so we had the extra mile to go. I can’t believe I walk that much in the checkpoints or where else do I make the extra! Finally we were on the better path and Angels were coming out to greet us. This time I had my own Angel who asked me what I needed plus my race number to check I’d get my bag. Andy being in front had already asked for my bag. Having the trackers meant they had some bags including mine ready. I was guided to a table as Andy got his. Tea, soup and veggie chilli. I didn’t seem keen on the pudding which is odd as they had rice pudding on offer!! I was eating plenty on the move but mostly chocolate bars.
I changed my waterproof socks as planned. I felt bad making such a mess but the Angels were so lovely to us. We both knew time was short so we worked as quickly as we could to get out if the door. I got my MP3 player out just in case. Made sure I had 2 pasties, Andy kept just the one. I swapped most of the rest of the food for mars and snicker bars and soreens. I’d been eating those really well and wondered why we’d stopped getting malt loafs. 
We’d hoped to be out by 4:15 but 4:30 at the latest. A 25 minute turn around and we were gone by 4:45. 


It’s always hard to get moving again especially when you’ve sat for awhile. It was a good solid path most of the way towards the turn for Sennen Cove which we overshot but soon found. Andy really felt he was struggling as we plodded along the sea front. An Arc Angel was guiding people out of the car park and onto the track. She had coke in the van which I suggested he try. 
I spent the next hour or so being as positive and supportive as I could. He was getting slower and started talking about dropping out to support me. I reminded him the sun would be coming up soon as I desperately tried to work out what time it would. After Cape Cornwall, 6.5 miles from Lands End, we shared a pasty as I knew he needed more energy. I kept trying to think of all the things he’d said to John Kynastan on the Hardmoors 160 that got him to the finish. 
I loved hearing the dawn chorus as the sun rose. We were moving well, we knew we could get to Pendeen before the cut off. We could see the light house a few times as we approached Geevor Tin mine area. We followed someone instead of going with Andy’s instincts but were soon back on course being careful to use a path and not cut across open mine shaft land.


We made it!! 8:20am, 66.1 miles done. 40 minutes ahead of last year. A guy from the spine support team recognised Andy. He was supporting someone. He filled our bottles and gave us a banana each.

 
Such a stunning day from here on round the coast. Milky seas crashed into the cliffs beneath us. Blue skies around us. I wish I’d taken photos but at the time the thought of taking my phone out of its waterproof cover was too much. Time was always on our minds. At times I was too warm as I kept my rain jacket on but it didn’t take long to get in the shade and feel cool again. I’d used my warm waterproof hat overnight but nothing else such as gloves.

 
Such stunning coastline. We chatted to others as we overtook or were overtaken. The usual joy of watching people trying to avoid the mud as we went straight through. A few times there was a choice of path and I’m sure others took the easier route across the headland as we dropped down on the official route. Either that or they really slowed down as we didn’t see them again and had been close to the same few for quite some time. This is the tough section. You know the 5 hours cutoff times they allow from Pendeen to St Ives is tight time wise for a reason despite it only being 13 miles. So many little ups and downs, so many rocky sections. So hard to run for any distance! The lure of making it to St Ives pulled us along. Andy was much stronger and even tried to be funny! The first runner from the 50 mile race overtook us before we reached the town. They’d started from the Minack Theatre at 08:30.
You don’t see St Ives until you’ve almost been through it already. The occasional house and Godrevy lighthouse a lot further up the course help but it’s not until you are rounding that final bend that you can see the beach and harbour and know you’re there. The route through St Ives was tough as the signs disappeared. I think we should have just gone straight ahead until we saw the next one. My GPS and passerbys helped guide us to where the Arc Angels were waiting to guide us up to the Checkpoint. The lady who chatted to me walked alongside me keeping up with me as I tried to jog along, I pointed out the guy with Andy was jogging, so she jogged a few steps which made me feel better.

Sunshine, sea and success as we made it!

Checkpoint 4. St Ives 79.2 (79.9) miles. 25 hours 25. 24 minutes behind schedule but 35 minutes ahead of the 14:00 cutoff.

I was keen to have soup again but it was cold, I was excited about having beans on toast with cheese but the toast was hard to eat. We’d allowed for a longer break here but didn’t plan to take the whole time especially as we were late arriving, from here we knew the cutoffs were easier to reach. Andy switched socks here. He then ran out of the entrance way to a round of applause, just down the road was Jon and Shirley. It was so lovely to see them, I felt quite choked up! A hug, photo and we were on our way.

It was a long section of tarmac from here to Hayle. We mostly walked but ran small sections. It was nice to get to the edge of Hayle and get off the road side but the beach side path wasn’t well marked after the initial sign post. This was the only section we hadn’t recced so were pleased to be rescued by 2 guys who pointed us back to the road when we came out on a side street. There was a sign missing on a side path or else we should have stayed on the road. We were never far off the route.

We saw quite a few other runners along this section, mostly from the 50 mile race although a few 100 milers. We were through the Dunes of Doom and at the Godrevy car park before nightfall. We were a bit confused on reaching that final cut off as we followed the coastal path route but others took a straight line to avoid the pools of water. 89.9 miles done, just 11 miles to go. We’d made good time from St Ives, despite leaving there 15 minutes behind the schedule, we were now only 5 minutes behind. We needed head torches soon after here but the going was good. I’d forgotten the long flat section before Portreath where Andy chatted to Tom and we did sections of running, Andy knew Tom from the Spine. I said I was dreading the last 4 miles knowing there were 2 tough ups and downs, Tom said he thought there were at least 4! We did a few tricky downs before the main down into Portreath and Tom ended going on ahead. A fews times I wondered if I should have asked Jo to meet us in Portreath with my poles as I’d given her my bag with winter paramo and poles in incase the weather turned bad. I think I would have struggled despite poles as it was easier to have your hands free on the steep sections.

There was a big group out cheering as we went through Portreath. 96.7 miles, my watch said 100 miles, at 20:05 we were 30 minutes behind our schedule. We knew there was no hope of us getting in before 9pm! I was right about the steep, uneven steps down on the 2 really nasty downhill climbs that then had a steep uphill climbs afterwards, there was a long flattish section between them but then we were on a rocky road section which was hard to get moving on especially as we both had sand in our shoes from the dunes. My feet were rubbing but I kept going. Finally, we turned to go towards Porthtowan and the rocks turned to mud but we missed the turn as we followed others who had turned too soon. They were heading back up and we were all soon on the road down to Porthtowan. We knew once there we still had a road section then a narrow muddy track up the side of the hill to the Eco Centre. The rain had been coming down for the last few hours and I was starting to feel cold but hadn’t added anything including gloves hoping the cold would keep me awake, as it did. We caught a few others on that climb despite my quads screaming out we are good climbers. Andy realised one was a 100 miler lady so told me there was a ladies place for the taking, he said it loud enough for her to hear. I knew I couldn’t run anymore so didn’t expect to catch anyone but we were quicker than she was as we crossed the last field to the finish, we actually ran, well jogged, the last section to the finish. We could hear announcements and cheering which really encouraged us but as we approached the cheering had been for the previous runners and there was nothing for us! A guy took our trackers from us. The finish area was busy with people. I was given my finisher buckle and moved forward in search of a seat. As usual, all I wanted to do was sit. Andy was interviewed briefly. 34 hours 13 minutes and 44 sections, very pleased, well within the 36 hours.

104.6 miles, 34 hours 13 minutes and 44 sections. Joint 100th of 111. 10th lady of 12

Through in the finish area David was there to greet us before he headed off to sleep. Andy found our bags and finish time slips. I got hot chocolate and someone filled our recovery shakes. Andy found lots of food but I didn’t feel hungry at all. I got changed as I was starting to feel cold. My socks were stuck to just beneath my ankles, a guy offered to cut them off, I asked for water to soak them off, which worked. Andy had moved the car close to the door. We headed back to our AirBnB delighted to have finished. We both got bad cramp in our hands which felt odd.

We met David back at the Eco Centre for the presentations, the following morning, which was nice to watch and support. We headed back to Devons to Bobs house for Champagne. I had a pastie and alcohol free beer and long hot soak as they watched the rugby. I ate little all day but enjoyed the cream tea he’d got for us.

The oval with a line through it under my number is because I DNF’d last year, somehow Andy didn’t get this on his number!! Next year it will be a solid oval to show I’ve completed it!
Go back to 10:10 PM to see us arrive, just!!

About marathongirl69hotmailcouk

Someone who enjoys lifes adventures!
This entry was posted in 100 marathons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment