168. Hardmoors 30

Hardmoors 30, 1st January 2022. 33.73 miles. 1,253m of ascent. 7 hours 18 mins 27 seconds. Joint 64th of 163. 14th lady. 4th in age

My 100th Ultra

What a ride! What a day!!Loved the mud, the blustery wind and the clear skies. So good to chat to so many people as we ran. We thought the start would be crowded as within a short distance we were off the road and onto the Cleveland Way but we didn’t have to queue. We went steady along the coast and up to the lighthouse where David Bradshaw took our photo. It was too crowded to stop and pose or even think about jumping for the picture.

 We were keeping to 5 miles an hour on the coast path and even up to the Beacon above Ravenscar. That climb felt so much easier than in March when we didn’t know what to expect. Andy ran most of it knowing how strong I am on the climbs. I filled a bottle with coke having ignored the first checkpoint. The caffeine and sugar is a great fuel. We got caught behind 2 less confident runners in the narrow slippy slope down from here but then enjoyed the road into Ravenscar and back onto the cinder track. We got chatting to a novice Hardmoor runner doing his first ultra but as a triathlete he was used to long distance. He stayed with us the Cloughton Wyke then left us on the coast. We kept at 5 minute miling all the way to Cloughton Wyke. I usually feel frustrated as people glide past me on the better surface but loved over taking people this time.

Heading north in the coast path was harder as expected but the gusting wind was to our advantage. Andy was amazing running up the hills that I might have walked on. Good to overtake others but for them to catch us up on other sections. We knew the section down from Ravenscar would be easier which got us back into a good pace. The Bogglehole checkpoint was like in March off the route. I got more water here but no food. I ate a chocolate chia charge flapjack, babybel cheese and mini fake snicker bar plus a few fruit pastels all day. It felt enough which seems surprising I’m still amazed that 3 bottles of Precision Hydration is what I need to preform! I have a proper Precision Hydration assessment coming up, Andy bought me it for Christmas, so I’ll be pleased to know what drink will help my fuelling. Andy ran every step up the hill in Robin Hoods Bay. Crazy guy. I fast marched it and caught a few others up but was well behind Andy.

From here we had 2 miles of gentle climb on the cinder track before heading back to the coast. I was delighted to see the Abbey with just 1.5 miles to go. We were 7 minutes slower than March but the ground was firmer then. Loved the day especially that fast finish. Andy made ginger cake to celebrate and Kate from the Pudsey Pacers had a congratulations ballon and chocolate cake for me. Perfect way to end an amazing day.  

Yorkshire Evening Post

https://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/health/sue-ryder-wheatfields-hospice-nurse-runs-100th-ultra-marathon-to-raise-almost-ps30000-3512905

Wharfedale Observer

https://www.wharfedaleobserver.co.uk/news/19817955.sue-ryder-nurse-raises-money-hospice-new-years-day-run-north-york-moors/

Interview with Radio Leeds plus slide show

About marathongirl69hotmailcouk

Someone who enjoys lifes adventures!
This entry was posted in 100 marathons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment